Title text:
The draw-by-repetition rule does a good job of keeping players from sliding a tile back and forth repeatedly, but the tiles definitely introduce some weird en passant and castling edge cases.
Transcript:
Transcript will show once it’s been added to explainxkcd.com
Source: https://xkcd.com/3139/
So now that the black pawn has reached “the last rank”, does it get promoted?
no, because it hasn’t reached the 8th rank.
So even if it does not move, this pawn could get promoted by some future tile-slide… come to think of it, I guess two pawns could get promoted in the same turn via a tile-slide.
That does seem to be the case, yes. Although I expect your opponent wouldn’t let you pull that off so easily.
A surprise, to be sure, but a welcome one